President names new Prime Minister; cabinet announced

PM Edouard Ngirente was sworn in shortly after his nomination had been announced.

The office of the President on Wednesday announced that President Paul Kagame had named Edouard Ngirente as the new Prime Minister, replacing Anastase Murekezi who has led the government since July 2014. He was sworn in in Parliament in the afternoon.

Later in the day the newly appointed PM announced the cabinet.

Ngirente, who has a a PhD in Agricultural Economics from the Catholic University of Louvain (UCL) in Belgium, has previously held various positions at the ministry of finance. He later worked at the World Bank in Washington, where he was senior advisor at the time of his nomination as Prime Minister.

Speaking at the swearing-in of the new Premier, President Kagame thanked him for accepting to serve the country as Prime Minister.

“Our way of working is about working together and complementing each other. I trust in his ability, will and determination to serve and achieve what Rwandans expect of him,” he said.

Kagame also commended the outgoing government headed by Anastase Murekezi for their contribution in moving the country forward.

“Our government is about being inclusive. Our aim is to ensure that every Rwandan feels represented by their government,” the President said.

In the evening, Ngirente announced the new cabinet members, who are appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister.

The line-up is as follows:

Prime Minister: Edouard Ngirente (@EdNgirente)



Ministers of State:

  • Minister of State in charge of Technical and Vocational Education and Training (@Rwanda_Edu): Olivier Rwamukwaya
  • Minister of State in charge of Primary and Secondary Education (@Rwanda_Edu): Isaac Munyakazi
  • Minister of State in charge of Social Affairs (@RwandaLocalGov): Alvera Mukabaramba
  • Minister of State in charge of Socio-Economic Development (@RwandaLocalGov): Cyriaque Harerimana
  • Minister of State in charge of Economic Planning (@RwandaFinance): Dr Uzziel Ndagijimana
  • Minister of State in charge of Public and Primary Healthcare (@RwandaHealth ): Patrick Ndimubanzi
  • Minister of State in charge of Transport (@RwandaInfra): Jean de Dieu Uwihanganye
  • Minister of State in charge of Energy and Water (@RwandaInfra): Germaine Kamayirese
  • Minister of State in charge of Agriculture (@RwandaAgri): Fulgence Nsengiyumva
  • Minister of State in charge of Constitutional and Legal Affairs (@Rwanda_Justice): Evode Uwizeyimana
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and East African Community: Olivier Nduhungirehe


Cabinet is completed by the CEO of the Rwanda Development Board, Clare Akamanzi, and the CEO of the Rwanda Mines, Petroleum & Gas Board, Francis Gatare.

Outgoing Premier Anastase Murekezi was appointed as the Chief Ombudsman.

  • By Hope Magazine
  • Posted 31st August 2017


There are no comments for this article.

4  +  9 =